Curriculum Departments » ESL » Student Assessment

Student Assessment

English Language Proficiency Standards

The English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards contain the language skills that limited English proficient children in Texas are taught to ensure that they have the full opportunity to learn English and succeed academically. The ELP standards are part of the state-required curriculum, the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS). The ELP standards consist of the Spanish language arts TEKS (grades K-6) and the English as a second language TEKS (grades K-12).

TEA List of Approved Tests

TEAs annual review of approved tests for use in the identification of students of limited English proficiency as well as entry/exit from bilingual education and special language programs, in accordance with 19 TAC §89.1225(d) relating to Testing and Classification of Students.

TEA Student Assessment Division

Information on State Assessment for English Language Learners


Accommodation Resources

TEA accessibility policies may apply to any student taking STAAR or TELPAS depending on his or her needs and whether or not the student meets the eligibility criteria, if applicable.

Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS)

The State Board of Education (SBOE) has legislative authority to adopt the TEKS for each subject of the required curriculum.


The required bilingual education or English as a second language programs shall be provided to every English language learner with parental approval until such time that the student meets exit criteria as described in §89.1225(h) of this title or graduates from high school.