Tomball ISD Board of Trustees Selected as Texas Honor School Board

TASA Press Release

TOMBALL - Tomball ISD Board of Trustees has recently been named one of five Honor School Boards by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) as part of its School Board Awards Program.

Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

For their steadfast commitment to high quality education and their demonstration of outstanding leadership, the Tomball ISD Board of Trustees was named the 2020-2021 Region 4 School Board of the Year and with that honor, are now in the running for Texas Outstanding Board of the Year.

Representing Tomball ISD as its Board of Trustees: 

  • Matt Schiel - President
  • Kathy Handler - Vice President
  • Lee McLeod - Secretary
  • John E. McStravick - Assistant Secretary
  • Mark Lewandowski
  • Michael J. Pratt
  • Justin Unser
    • Dr. Martha Salazar-Zamora - Nominating Superintendent 

“Being recognized as a Texas Honor Board is a tremendous honor and a well-deserved reflection of our Board of Trustees’ dedication to our community, their servant and ethical leadership as well as their passion for advocating for our students,” said Salazar-Zamora. “As a District, we want to congratulate this team on not only being named Region 4 Board of the Year but also being selected as a State Finalist. We thank them for their focused-leadership and unwavering support all while playing an integral role in our overall success here in Tomball ISD.” 

Whether it was leading a fiscally-responsible and financially-sound district, managing fast-growth, supporting the continued efforts of Bond 2017, navigating a year full of uncertainty in education due to COVID-19, the TISD School Board remained committed to supporting the efforts of high-quality instruction coupled with innovative opportunities for all students.

“The Tomball ISD Board of Trustees’ vision, commitment and harmonious working relationship for our students, staff and families is unparalleled,” said Salazar-Zamora. “We pride ourselves on being a place where climate and culture distinguish us as a Destination District and it begins at the top with our School Board. This group of dedicated individuals shares a passion for education and understands the importance of investing in our future growth as a District.”

The judging committee commented that the Tomball Board, through stability and strategic planning, has helped the district excel in the integration of curriculum and technology and student performance. They noted that the board is very involved, agenda-driven, and that they “walk the talk.”

Joining the Tomball ISD Board of Trustees as Honor School Boards and as State Finalists up for Outstanding School Board are Trustees from Aledo ISD, Duncanville ISD, Hays CISD and Mission CISD.

The five School Boards are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2021 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at txEDCON, the TASA|TASB Convention, in Dallas, where one board will be named Outstanding School Board on September 25. The other Honor Boards, as well as the regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

Tomball ISD educates students to become responsible, productive citizens by providing innovative, individually rigorous, and personally valuable educational experiences. Founded in 1908, Tomball ISD now encompasses 83 square miles in northwest Harris County and southwest Montgomery County, and is located approximately 30 miles from downtown Houston. The district currently educates over 19,000 students at 22 campuses.

Published Print