Skip To Main Content
Cras justo odio, dapibus ac facilisis in, egestas eget quam. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.
Tomball Independent School District

Board of Trustees

Team of Eight - December 2022
The Tomball Independent School District is governed by an elected seven-member board. School Board members are guardians of the public trust and, through the policies they make, are ultimately responsible for the success or failure of local public education. The board serves as the advocate for educational excellence for the community's youth and puts those interests first. The policies school boards make dictate the standards and philosophy by which schools are run and the criteria used to judge whether they are being run well.

The key roles and responsibilities of the school board members are:
  • Hire and Evaluate the superintendent and delegate all administrative responsibilities
  • Approve the school district's budget
  • Establish goals and evaluate outcomes
  • Adopt and evaluate policies
  • Communicate with the community
  • Adopt the tax rate
Tomball ISD Board of Trustees has recently been named one of five Honor School Boards by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) as part of its School Board Awards Program.
Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.
For their steadfast commitment to high-quality education and their demonstration of outstanding leadership, the Tomball ISD Board of Trustees was named the 2020-2021 Region 4 School Board of the Year and with that honor, are now in the running for Texas Outstanding Board of the Year.
The Board President will respond to all communications (including electronic messages) addressed to the full Board. The school board can be emailed at
Mr. John McStravick

Mr. John E. McStravick

Position 3
Elected 2000
Term Ends 2026
Mr. Justin Unser

Mr. Justin Unser

Vice President
Position 6
Elected 2019
Term Ends 2024
Mr. Mark Lewandowski

Mr. Mark Lewandowski

Position 4
Elected 2003
Term Ends 2026
Dr. Michael Pratt

Dr. Michael J. Pratt

Assistant Secretary
Position 2
Elected 2010
Term Ends 2026
Mr. Lee McLeod

Mr. Lee McLeod

Position 7
Elected 2017
Term Ends 2024
Tina Salem

Mrs. Tina Salem

Position 1
Elected 2022
Term Ends 2026
Mr. Matt Schiel

Mr. Matt Schiel

Position 5
Elected 2016
Term Ends 2024